feed Subscribe to feed


Posted in Crazy Wisdom on Tuesday, September 24, 2002 at 9:46 am by flerly.

life is short son better have some fun
(party like a rockstar kick a little ass)
crack a cold one snap a fat one in the mid day sun
(rock it like a pornstar Slap a little ass)

Just thinking of Stacy and got a little So Cal Loco on the brain. Last night was ‘s (slightly) early birthday extravaganza at Maggiano’s–family style italian dining.. they just kept bringing food. It was good, until we realized we couldn’t sit in those chairs all night. Got Stacy the Bad Girls Guide to the Party Life and framed one of our classic Cheese Posse pictures. Even managed to come home after and scan a few more, though I restrained from scanning Maggie’s ass picture. It’s a keeper, though.

Plenty of snaps were taken at dinner. Can’t wait to see how those turn out.

Anyway.. Stacy’s off flying off to SoCal today for some birthday fun. Missing one posse night, but perhaps she’ll call and conference in, if she gets the hang of the time difference and/or has nothing/nobody better to do at that time. =)

Go on and save yourself
And take it out on me

Apparently 99x is playing AudioSlave‘s first track “Cochise” practically every hour, or so sayeth the Stacy. Excellent… soon I’ll get to go back thru all those Demo tracks and give them names instead of numbers.

Oh well. Billy is stalking me. I learned it from Jason, he says. So I guess I’m going to try to find some work to do.

musicNEWS: Rage/Cornell’s Audioslave CD Officially Announced.

09-22-02 antiGUY
After months of relying on rumors and “sources close to the band,” Epic Records has officially announced the release of Audioslave’s debut album. Below is the press release:

September 19, 2002


In the spirit of the supergroups of the past, two of the most important bands of the nineties have pooled their talents to create a new band: AUDIOSLAVE. On November 19th, Epic Records will release AUDIOSLAVE’s self-titled debut album featuring former lead singer/guitarist of Soundgarden, Chris Cornell (Vocals) and Rage Against The Machine’s Tim Commerford (Bass), Tom Morello (Guitar), and Brad Wilk (Drums).

AUDIOSLAVE was recorded in Los Angeles at Oceanway Studios with producer Rick Rubin. Chris Cornell formed Soundgarden in 1985 and over the course of 12 years the group established themselves as one of the most influential rock bands of the nineties selling, over 20 million records worldwide. David Fricke writes in Rolling Stone, “On their ’94 master blast, Superunknown, Soundgarden blew a big, black hole through the burnt-boogie angst of heavy Muzak, managing to sound both fried and alive in the fine thunder-and-color tradition of late-period Led Zeppelin.”

As Soundgarden continued to release critically acclaimed and platinum-selling albums, the music of Rage Against The Machine was bringing a fierce and uncompromising meld of punk-inspired hard rock and politically-charged rap to the mainstream charts. With the release of their self-titled debut in 1992 the face of rock music began to change.

“On the strength of the album,” wrote Timothy White in Billboard, “they must be viewed as one of the most original and virtuosic new rock bands in the nation…Rage Against The Machine generates the most beautifully articulated torrent of hardcore bedlam that one could imagine. And the hopes invested in these humming murals of urban din are equally visionary.”

Rage Against The Machine went on to sell 15 million records worldwide.

AUDIOSLAVE contains 14 tracks (see below for tracklisting) including their first single and video “Cochise.” The video for “Cochise” will be directed by Mark Romanek.

“Cochise was the last great American Indian chief to die free and absolutely unconquered. When several members of his family were captured, tortured, and hung by the U.S. Cavalry, Cochise declared war on the entire Southwest and went on an unholy rampage, a warpath to end all warpaths. He and his warriors drove out thousands of settlers. Cochise the Avenger, fearless and resolute, attacked everything in his path with an unbridled fury. This song kinda sounds like that.” – Tom Morello

The 14 tracks on AUDIOSLAVE are the result of the band’s early time spent in their Los Angeles rehearsal space writing and jamming. During this writing and recording process, rough demos from the album were leaked to the internet. Obviously, these tracks are not representative of the final album as they were rehearsal demos. The members of AUDIOSLAVE look forward to bringing their completed album to the masses this Fall.

Please stay tuned for further announcements.

1 Cochise
2 Show Me How To Live
3 Gasoline
4 What You Are
5 Like A Stone
6 Set It Off
7 Shadow Of The Sun
8 I Am The Highway
9 Exploder
10 Hypnotize
11 Bring Em Back Alive
12 Light My Way
13 Getaway Car
14 The Last Remaining Light


No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Search this blog